ARTIS HENDERSON - UNREMARRIED WIDOW

01/23/2014 7:00 pm
 
 ARTIS HENDERSON
UNREMARRIED WIDOW
THURSDAY, JANUARY 23
7 PM
 
Join us as we welcome Artis Henderson, author of the beautiful and heartbreaking memoir, Unremarried Widow. As always, refreshments will be served on the porch before and after the signing!
About the book:

In the tradition of The Year of Magical Thinking and What Remains, this breathtaking memoir by a young Army widow shares her heartbreaking, candid story about recovering from her husband's death.A world traveler, Artis Henderson dreamed of living abroad after college and one day becoming a writer. Marrying a conservative Texan soldier and being an Army wife was never in her plan. Nor was the devastating helicopter crash that took his life soon after their marriage. On November 6, 2006, the Apache helicopter carrying Artis’s husband Miles crashed in Iraq, leaving her—in official military terms—an “unremarried widow.” She was twenty-six years old.

About the Author:

Artis Henderson is an award-winning journalist and essayist whose work has appeared in The New York TimesReader’s Digest, Florida Weekly, and the online literary journal Common Ties. She has an undergraduate degree from the University of Pennsylvania and a graduate degree from Columbia University’s School of Journalism. She lives in New York.


 

 

 
$25.00
ISBN-13: 9781451649284
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Simon & Schuster, 1/2014
“Honest, poised, and graceful . . . There’s profound and hard-won wisdom in these pages.”
(Elle)

“A beautiful debut from an exciting new voice.”
(Kirkus Reviews (starred review))

“A wholly American story that will find broad appeal with every reader who has ever wondered if she made the right choice.”
(Booklist)

“Reading Unremarried Widow is like coming across an unexpectedly powerful monument in a cemetery—you stand there imagining someone else’s story, and suddenly you realize that it’s our story, that it connects us to something large and lasting, even as it separates us from an irreclaimable past.”
(Rhoda Janzen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Mennonite in a Little Black Dress)

Unremarried Widow is a beautifully crafted memoir of uncommon candor and power. Everyone should read this book for what it says about our profound capacity for love, and to remind us all of just how much we ask of those who serve in harm’s way—and of the loved ones they leave behind.”
(Will Schwalbe, New York Times bestselling author of The End of Your Life Book Club)

“Artis Henderson’s remarkable memoir allows readers into the seldom-seen and unexpected world of the war widow. Henderson’s eloquently rendered grief honors the soldiers lost and the resilient widows who carry on, all while she reassembles her life by pursuing a dream of writing.”
(Siobhan Fallon, author of You Know When the Men Are Gone)

“Artis Henderson’s Unremarried Widow is as engrossing as a good novel, but the story it tells is true and raw. In giving us an intimate, complex glimpse into the culture of military wives, and in writing about charged subjects—war, grief, gender, and our sometimes conflicting allegiances—with honesty and without judgment, she makes us witness to matters that touch all of our lives, whether we dare to acknowledge them or not.”
(Leah Hager Cohen, author of The Grief of Others)


Location: 
Street:
216 S Armenia Ave
City:
Tampa
,
Province:
Florida
Postal Code:
33609-3310
Country:
United States