Skip to main content

UNCHAINED STAFF PICKS

January STAFF PICKS!
 

Is one of your new year resolutions to read more?
We can help with that!

 



$14.95
ISBN-13: 9780544129665
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Mariner Books, 11/2014
"With over thirty different pieces this collection has it all... Short stories, non-fiction pieces, poems, excerpts from comics/graphic novels, articles from literary magazines, excerpts from chapbooks and even a transcript from a Night Vale Podcast. What also makes this collection so much fun to read is that it was curated by fourteen highschool students. Then last, but most certainly not least, there is the added bonus that the editor is Daniel Handler, who also wrote an introduction from Lemony Snicket." ERIN

$28.00
ISBN-13: 9781627791458
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Henry Holt and Co., 10/2014

"Like many of you, "By the Book" is one of my favorite parts of the NYT Book Review. Compiled here by Pamela Paul, editor of the Book Review, are 65 author interviews (uncut and in their original format) all about writing habits, favorite authors and books and - one of my favorites - books they'd wish the president would read. The authors range from Michael Chabon and Khaled Hosseini to Anne Lamott and Hilary Mantel, making this a delectable treat for any book lover." AMANDA


$15.00
ISBN-13: 9781451642940
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Simon & Schuster, 12/2014
"A former nurse, Norma Bowe decided to teach a college class on death. She never expected a three year waiting list for the class or that her students would be called to help others in transformative ways while saving their own lives. Don’t be fooled by the title, this book is inspiring and life-affirming. Hayasaki is a gifted journalist who spent time as a student of Professor Bowe’s to gain a unique insight into her life and the lives of the students she teaches each day."  Stefani

Descent (Hardcover)

$25.95
ISBN-13: 9781616203047
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 1/2015
"A family vacation in the Rocky Mountains turns tragic when a young girl goes missing. Her younger brother is the only one who remembers what happened and is overcome by guilt and denial. The parent’s relationship disintegrates while their young daughter’s whereabouts remain a mystery. You will not be able to put this one down. Every character is significant to the plot development. There is nothing rushed or gimmicky about this literary thriller. It is a page turner, but only because you want to see how each character is living despite a set of terrible circumstances. Easily the best book I’ve read in 5 years. We have limited First Edition signed copies, grab one now!"  Stefani

Essays After Eighty (Hardcover)

Email or call for price
ISBN-13: 9780544287044
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Houghton Mifflin, 12/2014
"I like a certain amount of surprise in my life, but when it comes to getting older I've found I'd like to have fair warning about what to expect. Donald Hall, a former Poet Laureate and National Medal of the Art winner, has written a beauiful collection of essays from the vantage point of 86 years old. They are funnier than I imagined they would be, as well as inspiring and heartening, and the prose is pitch perfect." AMANDA

Heads or Tails (Paperback)

$24.99
ISBN-13: 9781606995976
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Fantagraphics Books, 1/2015
"Very short (flash) fiction in graphic novel format. Carre has really done something special here, creating intricate stories that last only a few frames. The artwork is lovely, the tales melancholic and slightly gothic. It goes by quickly, but you'll want to keep revisiting the individual stories to pick out each and every nuance." AMANDA

$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781250052216
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Picador, 11/2014

“If you possessed the power of human regeneration, what would you do with it? In the case of Dale Sampson, debut novelist Venturini's antihero, you use your 'gift' for the ultimate good: reality television. After a horrific incident in high school, Dale realizes he has the ability to spontaneously regenerate his organs and limbs. Following years of depression, he decides -- with the help of his longtime best friend and spurred on by the disastrously romantic idea of saving a high school sweetheart -- to give himself up to the reality show moguls in Hollywood. As outlandish as the plot may sound, this novel is thought-provoking and inspirational, with more than a few laughs along the way.”


$10.99
ISBN-13: 9780545676465
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Graphix, 1/2015
"TenNapel has created a very real Reptiles vs. Amphibians world in which Little Herk, the weakest of the Nnewts, is forced to flee his home when his town is invaded by the scary Lizzarks. Confined to water due to his underdeveloped legs, Herk navigates the big wide world with an evil overlord hot on his tail. He must find the strength he possesses within himself, different from all the others -- his life depends on it! This is a great start to a new graphic novel series for kids. Fans of Zita the Spacegirl, Amulet and Bones - here's something new for you!" AMANDA 

$13.99
ISBN-13: 9780316401289
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, 1/2015
"Next Top Villain is a spinoff of the original Ever After High series by Shannon Hale. This new series will give you an inside look into the lives of the "villains" - Dutchess Swan and Lizzie Hearts. Overall, it was a fun new take on familiar characters that was both clever and comical. Enjoyable for all ages... Especially for fans of fairy tales and all their interpretations and reimaginations." ERIN

The Rosie Effect (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9781476767314
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Simon & Schuster, 12/2014
"The sequel to the bestselling Rosie Project. Spoiler Alert: Rosie and Don fell in love despite Don’s 16 page questionnaire during his quest for an ideal mate. Rosie and Don are now married with a baby on the way. Don still lacks some spontaneity during the 10 months and 10 days the two have been married, but Rosie is always good for unscheduled sex and breakfast for dinner, but how will they handle a third member in this unlikely tribe? Simsion is as funny and provocative as ever in this humorous sequel."  Stefani

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9781455551927
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Grand Central Publishing, 1/2015
"14- year -old Kevin and his mother witness a terrible family accident and are sent to live with Kevin’s grandfather in the coal mining town of Medgar, Kentucky. Pops is the local vet and with wit and wisdom begins to help Kevin and his mother heal. The family drama intertwines with the town’s rebellion against a strip mining company and the murder of a local hero.  A deeply moving coming of age debut novel." Stefani

$13.99
ISBN-13: 9781476736099
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Simon & Schuster, 12/2014
"Dr. Agus is well known for helping his cancer patients prolong their lives in innovative and progressive ways. In this new guide, he offers practical advice to improve everyone’s health. It’s New Year’s Resolution time, so if one of yours is taking care of your health then this guide is a good start. Easy to read, simple inexpensive advice that is doable. You won’t have to change your whole life or way of eating, just take some simple steps to be a healthier version of your former self."  Stefani

$16.95
ISBN-13: 9781580892957
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Charlesbridge, 4/2014
"Hooray art! The Stone Giant is a great art-primer to get the little ones interested in art and art history. In a fun and accessible way, Sutcliffe explains the phenomena that is The David, one of the most recognizable pieces of art in the world. It's a story not only of how one man saw in a hunk of marble a beautiful creation, but of how much art can affect its viewers. Read along with the kids....you may learn something yourself!" AMANDA

Telephone (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781452110233
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Chronicle Books, 9/2014
"A whimsical picture book about kooky birds sitting on a telephone wire trying to communicate a message to young Peter, the Pigeon.  A humorous take on the actual telephone game. A great read aloud for children ages 0-5. I love the illustrations and funny birds." Stefani

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781449459956
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Andrews McMeel Publishing, 9/2014
I love this book so much. In its superficial form - an internet- sensation-turned-book - The Terrible and Wonderful Reasons Why I Run Long Distances may seem a little silly. But please, open it up! Inside you'll find a firecracker of inspiration. Matthew Inman - AKA The Oatmeal - puts all of his (and mine and your) demons, or BLERCHES, on the page. And then he leaves them behind in the dust, running as fast as he can. You will laugh - a lot - and you'll find yourself, as I did over and over, commiserating with this little cartoon man. It's for runners, yes, but it's also for anyone who ever has to battle those little internal demons that say we're not good enough, fast enough, smart enough - and that we should eat that entire cake. And I think that could be everyone." AMANDA

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780545538244
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Scholastic Press, 1/2015
"This is our January Kids' Book Club selection! New from the author of Glory Be, The Way to Stay in Destiny is the story of Theo, a kid who's just been moved far away from everything he's ever known and plopped into the humid and ultra-foreign world of 1970s Destiny, Florida. He's with his Vietnam Veteran uncle, a very apprehensive caretaker to say the least, and the two of them find a home in Miss Sister Grandersole's Rooming House and Dance School. Theo's a prodigious musician, and finds the piano in the dance school within hours. He also loves baseball, and when he meets his first friend Anabel - a baseball-loving, dance-class-skipping tomboy - he finally begins to feel at home. The two of them work together on a school project about the history of baseball in the town, and uncover much more than they bargain for! This is a wonderful story of family, friendship, music and, of course, baseball." AMANDA

21 Proms (Paperback)

Email or call for price
ISBN-13: 9780545798679
Availability: Special Order - Subject to Availability
Published: Push, 12/2014
"21 of some of the best young adult authors come together in a collection of 21 short stories about Prom. Some of the featured authors are John Green, E. Lockhart, Rachel Cohen and Melissa de la Cruz plus David Levithan as editor and contributor." ERIN