Positively Izzy Cover Image
By Terri Libenson, Terri Libenson (Illustrator)
$10.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Award-winning comics creator and author of the bestselling Invisible Emmie Terri Libenson returns with a companion graphic novel that captures the drama, angst, and humor of middle-school life. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier, Jennifer Holm, and Victoria Jamieson.

Middle school is all about labels.

Izzy is the dreamer. There’s nothing Izzy loves more than acting in skits and making up funny stories. The downside? She can never quite focus enough to get her schoolwork done.

Bri is the brain. But she wants people to see there’s more to her than just a report card full of As. At the same time, she wishes her mom would accept her the way she is and stop bugging her to “break out of her shell” and join drama club.

The girls’ lives converge in unexpected ways on the day of a school talent show, which turns out to be even more dramatic than either Bri or Izzy could have imagined.

About the Author


Terri Libenson is the bestselling author of Invisible Emmie and Positively Izzy. She is also the Reuben Award–winning cartoonist of the internationally syndicated comic strip The Pajama Diaries and was a writer of humorous cards for American Greetings. Terri lives with her husband and two daughters in Cleveland, Ohio. You can find her online at www.terrilibenson.com.



Terri Libenson is the bestselling author of Invisible Emmie and Positively Izzy. She is also the Reuben Award–winning cartoonist of the internationally syndicated comic strip The Pajama Diaries and was a writer of humorous cards for American Greetings. Terri lives with her husband and two daughters in Cleveland, Ohio. You can find her online at www.terrilibenson.com.

Praise For…


“Funny details of Brianna and Izzy’s lives ring true as the author explores relatable topics such as middle school friendships, self-discovery, and family dynamics. Libenson stresses the importance of being true to oneself, and readers will root for the characters to succeed.”
— School Library Journal

“Libenson captures middle-school dramas—family, friendships, crushes, stereotypes, grades, self-discovery—with candor, fast pacing, and authentic, relatable characters. Positively satisfying.”
— The Horn Book

“Libenson nicely touches on classic middle-grade tropes, such as shifting friendships, crushes, and developing confidence. A poignant twist ending adds a heartening note to an already charming story.”
— Booklist

“The story is light but resonant for middle graders, with constant comedic asides in the illustrations.”
— Kirkus Reviews

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “This is middle grade fiction at its best. A fantastic debut novel with plenty of laughs and tons of heart. INVISIBLE EMMIE is unforgettable!”
— Lincoln Peirce, author of Big Nate

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “Clever, funny work by a great cartoonist. Reading INVISIBLE EMMIE sums up middle school: You laugh, you cry, you get beaned in the head with a volleyball.”
— Stephan Pastis, author of Timmy Failure

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “This funny and heartfelt tale will ring true for anyone who’s ever felt invisible.”
— Victoria Jamieson, Newbery Honor author-illustrator of ROLLER GIRL

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “In her first children’s book, cartoonist Libenson offers strikingly different visions of seventh grade through two very dissimilar narrators. A well-executed twist will have readers flipping back to see what they missed while cheering the strides made by Libenson’s no-longer-invisible heroine.”
— Publishers Weekly

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “With all-too-familiar middle-school drama and an empowering lesson about speaking up and bravely facing down embarrassment, this should find an easy audience among fans of Wimpy Kid or Dork Diaries books.”
— Booklist

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “Many readers will recognize themselves in Emmie and her friends, who are at once self-conscious and eager to be seen for who they are. A highly relatable middle grade drama.”
— School Library Journal

Praise for INVISIBLE EMMIE: “Libenson’s clever tale will entertain readers in the throes of middle school as well as younger students both wary of and intrigued by their near future.”
— The Horn Book
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062484963
ISBN-10: 0062484966
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: May 1st, 2018
Pages: 224
Language: English

Sign up for the Inkwood Newsletter